Skip to Main Content

Transportation Library Quick Guide: User and Research Support: Core Services

Core services discussed in this Quick Guide are:

  • Literature searches
  • LibGuides
  • Reference services
  • Archival materials
  • Other traditional services, including licensure examination resources and new library material alerts

Core Services

Most state DOT libraries and research programs provide research assistance to users in the form of literature searches. While some of these research products provide the results of an exhaustive search of relevant publications, more typical is the literature search that produces a list of relatively recent relevant publication citations on a particular topic, organized by date or subtopic, with abstracts briefly describing each publication. Links to the full text of a publication are provided when that content is available to the requestor. If the full-text publication isn’t available, the literature search provides a link to a citation for the publication. While many transportation libraries and research programs produce literature searches in-house, others contract out the literature search to a consultant, whose work is overseen by an agency librarian or other staff member.

Literature searches may serve a variety of purposes. Some are conducted as a prelude to a fully funded research project. In other cases, the transportation librarian or information services provider may be asked to conduct a literature search to inform a report a staff member is producing or answer a specific question. More customized information packages may include photos, maps or scanned documents such as old agreements.

While most research programs with or without a library will prepare a traditional literature search, often delivered on a library template, some also offer an online alternative—a LibGuide. These online research products are developed using the Springshare LibApps platform, a central hub providing access to the LibGuides application. LibGuide creators can organize resources and use images and other graphics to create webpages with boxes of content that are easy to use and visually compelling.

State DOT librarians and information services providers have produced numerous LibGuides that are hosted on NTL’s website. Many of these resource guides were developed by members of regional Transportation Knowledge Networks, which were disbanded in 2020, and are now updated by the National Transportation Knowledge Network. The current iteration of the Transportation Research and Connectivity pooled fund continues these efforts with new LibGuides (called resource guides by the pooled fund) on a variety of subjects. When published, these resource guides will be hosted on NTL's website.

State transportation agencies staffed with professional librarians or experienced information services providers may support online or in-person reference services. These services are offered to help agency staff locate specific information, make better use of the library and its resources, or resolve an access or authentication problem with electronic resources.

A recent Transportation Research and Connectivity pooled fund survey of state DOT research program managers and librarians indicated that agencies with a professional librarian or access to a librarian almost always offer in-person reference services. Transportation libraries offering online reference assistance often provide an online form or tool for agency staff and other users to ask for help.

Resources of Note

National Transportation Library

National TRansportation Library LibChat online form. Blank fields for user's name, contact information, agency affiliation and question.   NTL’s Ask a Librarian & FAQs webpage offers a searchable text box to ask questions and an online LibChat form.

 

 

 

 

 

Minnesota

MnDOT Library provides an online form for agency staff to submit a reference question.

Many agencies archive information that serves to retain institutional knowledge.

Examples From the Field

Wisconsin DOT Library archives materials related to the administrative history of the agency and historic transportation resources and functions. Similarly, the Wisconsin Digital Archives collects all state government documents back to 2001.

The Oregon DOT Library retains a large historical collection, including publications, photos and reports on projects and history of the agency, that provides critical context as new research projects are considered.

Other information services traditionally provided by transportation libraries include:

  • Licensure examination resources. Many transportation libraries provide materials for agency staff member use in preparing for the professional engineer or other professional exams. Sometimes these materials are print-only and are among a library’s most-used print resources.
  • New library material alerts. Libraries can engage with users—and encourage nonusers to see the value of library resources—by publishing a list of materials recently added to the library collection. Alerts regarding new material or other news can be sent globally within an agency or selectively disseminated to only appropriate staff. Some libraries have subject-based email mailing lists that are used to target content to the most appropriate users. Other libraries post monthly alerts (MnDOT Library’s New Library Materials is an example).
  • News alerts. Preparing periodic articles for an internal agency newsletter about recent additions or new services is another way to spread the word about the services the library or information center provides.
  • Periodicals routing. Some libraries route physical resources throughout the agency while others opt to route links to periodicals popular in the transportation field.
  • Study and work areas. Even agencies with no physical library space may be able to spare space for general collaborative interaction, which can enhance information sharing across the agency.