Skip to Main Content

Transportation Library Quick Guide: Space Planning: Physical Collections

Physical Collections

Connecticut State Library's Library Space Planning GuideSpace planning should start with an inventory of physical collections and other materials to be housed, with consideration given to any plans to digitize, discontinue or expand each collection:

  • Include reference materials; current periodicals; bound journals; local, state and national reports; and maps.
  • Review the sources of these collections to see if any are available online and, if so, how agency researchers can readily access the online information.
  • Consider whether digitization of selected material is an option.

Refer to the Digitization Quick Guide for more information.

Once it is clear which physical materials need to be housed, an agency can estimate the shelf space and the square footage required for the shelves, including accounting for Americans with Disabilities Act requirements.

Connecticut State Library’s Library Space Planning Guide provides a detailed planning and space guide, including a worksheet to estimate needed space for collections and other uses.

Compact Shelving

For small spaces, compact shelving (also known as movable or mobile shelving) may offer an effective solution for storing print materials. Considerations for libraries contemplating this type of print collection storage include:

  • Determining how much weight the library’s floor can accommodate. A structural engineer may need to be consulted to determine the library’s floor load.
  • Identifying the maximum height the library can accommodate. The space required between sprinkler heads and the shelving should be considered.
  • Assessing whether the collection is a good fit for compact shelving. This approach to shelving has been recommended for low-use, low-growth and low-maintenance collections.

Compact shelving systems can be manually operated by users to move one set of shelves (carriages) at a time, mechanically assisted to move two to three carriages at a time, or operated with an electrical system to move multiple carriages together in one movement. Shelving systems that require an electrical system are the most costly option and often used for large collections. Safety devices can be active or passive, and may be standard or optional, depending on the system. Librarians considering the use of compact shelving are encouraged to visit other libraries where these systems are installed and consult with multiple vendors.

Shelving Systems in Small Spaces

Compact shelving at the USGS library.

      Source: U.S. Geological Survey

Compact shelving system used by the U.S. Geological Survey