Transportation Library Quick Guide: Collection Development and Management: Collection Development Policies

A typical transportation library policy might include these key elements:

• Introduction: Describes the purpose or goals of the policy.
• Community profile: Describes the agency, the library users and the most typical areas of expertise (engineering, for example) within the agency, and any other user groups external to the agency.
• Collection description: Provides an overview of the range of subjects collected and the extent to which they are collected. Also included is a description of the library’s reference collection (if applicable), special collections, archives and historical resources, and the library’s possible role as a depository of publications produced by the agency or other state agencies.
• Needs assessment: Uses data, if available, on what users need and the types of materials they’re using. This assessment can be done with user surveys and reviews of library usage data (circulation statistics, website analysis and user requests satisfied with interlibrary loan or document delivery).

Refer to the Information Management Quick Guide for more information about document delivery and interlibrary loan. 

This assessment will inform development of a list of subject areas in which materials will be collected and may also identify specific content, such as study materials for professional exams, which will supplement materials in the subject areas that the library collects.

• Selection criteria that consider space limitations that will impact how print materials are collected, the formats to be collected (for example, a focus on digital content rather than print materials); costs; multiple copies; and the resources available from partner agencies.
• Partner agencies that may be identified in terms of what these partners contribute to the library or the partner-produced publications the library is required or chooses to retain.
• Updating and weeding guidance that describes how to identify and remove outdated or irrelevant materials.
• Plans to review and update the policy that ensure it remains effective. The policy should be considered a living document that is reviewed and updated periodically to reflect changes in user needs and the agency’s evolving strategic priorities.

When creating a collection development policy:

• Assess the information needs of users and the agency.
• Define the scope of the collection.
• Identify the criteria that will be used to select materials.
• Establish plans for sharing resources. 
• Determine cancellation practices for journals and other serials.
• Develop strategies for removing books and other items in the collection.

Oklahoma

Oklahoma Transportation Library’s Collection Development Policy was finalized in December 2021 and includes policy, vision and mission statements. Also included are descriptions of the funding source for the library, the scope and types of materials in the collection, preservation, deselection and acquisitions.

Virginia

The October 2016 Policy on Collection Development developed by Virginia DOT Research Library is an example of a collection development policy for a well-established state DOT library. (The policy notes that it does not address selection.)

Additional Examples

Other examples of policies and guidance for managing both large and small library collections:

• Missouri Digital Heritage Collection Development Policy (December 2015)
• Montana State Library New Library Directors Handbook: Collection Development Policy (undated)
• NTL Collection Development and Maintenance Policy (January 2018)
• Northwestern University Libraries Collection Development Policies (various dates; includes subject-specific collections)
• Special Collections of the National Agricultural Library Collection Development Policy (undated)