Transportation Library Quick Guide: Collection Development and Management: Electronic Resources

Transportation libraries with more extensive collections of electronic resources may benefit from a structured process to track the life cycle of these library resources. Even libraries with relatively few subscriptions to e-journals and journal packages could benefit from the use of tools such as the Techniques for Electronic Resource Management (TERMS) model, which identifies six components that make up the electronic resource management process:

• Investigating new content. Assess the demand and how it relates to the overall collection. Can the demand be satisfied with existing resources? Does the budget support it? Is a trial available? Is it possible to participate in a consortial purchase? Is a multiyear deal available?
• Acquiring new content, which involves licensing and contract negotiation. Think about how many users you’ll want to license—a single-user license that allows access only in the library, or a multiuser or sitewide license that allows for greater user access. Review the contract carefully and be ready to ask for changes. The LIBLICENSE project is geared to academic libraries but is still a great resource for other types of libraries seeking model license agreements that can be compared with a vendor’s standard agreement. Engage with other librarians on licensing issues using the LIBLICENSE discussion forum.
• Implementation that begins with testing the product. Test the authentication process (how the user gains access to the resource), which will likely be through internet protocol (IP) access; password-based access may also be an option. Work with your information technology (IT) department if you’re unfamiliar with your agency’s IP range and how this type of authentication works. Training and documentation are also critical. Think about doing a soft launch to make sure the new resource is operating and accessible as expected. 
• Ongoing evaluation and access to assess the value of the new resource to users. Find out how to gather usage data and consider conducting a formal or informal survey of frequent users of library resources to get a sense of the new resource’s value to your users. Work with your IT department, as needed, to troubleshoot authentication and access issues.
• Annual review tied to the schedule of renewal for the electronic resource. Check the license for the date by which you’ll need to notify the vendor if you elect not to renew. Contact the vendor in advance if you’re hoping to negotiate a more competitive price.
• Cancellation and replacement review. Take some time to consider other available alternatives or more cost-effective options for the resource before moving forward with a renewal. If you decide to cancel or replace, be prepared to explain to users why the resource is no longer available and recommend other ways to obtain the needed information.

Licensing a database of full-text publications can be too costly for many transportation libraries. For libraries with a more robust budget, the following electronic collections may be of interest:

• ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers) Library
• ASTM Digital Library via ASTM Compass
• IEEE Xplore Digital Library

Transportation Research Record (TRR), the peer-reviewed journal of TRB, is one of the seminal publications in transportation research. TRR Journals Online provides access to the full text of the articles published in TRR since 1996.

TR News is TRB’s bimonthly magazine that features articles and brief news items of interest to the transportation community. The publication includes workshop and conference announcements, new book notices, news of TRB activities and the TRB Annual Report.

Online resource guides (LibGuides) produced by universities supporting studies in transportation and in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) can be a good starting point to identify electronic resources and other materials that will be helpful to transportation professionals:

• Civil and Environmental Engineering (MIT (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) Libraries)
• Online Resources (STEM): Useful Databases in Science, Engineering and Technology (Northwestern University Libraries)
• Transportation (Northwestern University Libraries; links to topic-specific guides)
• Transportation (MIT Libraries)

Refer to the Copyright and Open Access Quick Guide for information about freely available open access resources that can supplement the electronic resources your library licenses.