LibGuides: Organizational Culture: Public Sector, Transportation, and Construction

Public Sector

Building a Proactive, Engagement Culture in Asset Management Organizations 2014. This study developed a path model to examine the impact of perceived organizational support and leader-member exchange on organizational culture within asset management organizations in Australia. Additionally, a path from organizational culture to employee engagement was also examined. Survey responses from 90 technical and engineering employees within asset management organizations were analyzed using partial least squares modeling. The results provide support that perceived organizational support and leader-member exchange were positively and significantly related to organizational culture and that organizational culture was positively and significantly related to employee engagement. As a result, the findings from this study provide asset managers with insights to assist the movement from reactive to proactive organizational cultures and to enhance the engagement of asset management engineering and technical employees with optimizing the performance and competitiveness of their organizations
more...less...
Abstract only
Organizational Culture and Motivation in the Public Sector. The Case of the City of Zografou 2014. In an era of increasingly diminishing public funding for local government organizations, motivating public employees is becoming a nearly impossible mission, with managers searching for non-monetary reward practices, to maintain or even increase motivation and performance of their subordinates. The findings of this study point to the need of a re-examination of the existing organizational culture by the local government and the creation of one that is closer to the one with greater motivating potential.
more...less...
Full-text
Study Case for Determination of Organizational Culture in a State Organization 2012. This paper presents a study on identifying the type of existing and desired organizational culture, in a state organization. For writing this paper, the strategy adopted was the study case. For data collection and analysis were used qualitative research techniques and specific tools such as: analysis and documents, interviews with company employee, questionnaire and direct observation. Harrison's organizational ideology questionnaire was used to identify the type of organizational culture. The existing culture is the role-type culture and the desired culture is the success-type culture. Between the two types of organizational culture is a large gap.
more...less...
Open source. Link will go to abstract which allows download of pdf
Technology in government: How organizational culture mediates information and communication technology outcomes 2012. Modern theoreticians emphasize that management is required in all modern organizations, economic or not, possibly being even more necessary in organizations that have no economic character, such the state institutions as they are not governed by the principle of profit and loss. Hence, research in the field of project management within the institutions of public administration is a potentially fruitful one, as it can emphasize strengths and weaknesses in the field, and, in the long run, contributes to raising the level of the countries or development regions involved.
more...less...
Abstract only.
Practice, power and meaning: frameworks for studying organizational culture in multi-agency rural development projects 2003. Culture has received increasing attention in critical development studies, though the notion that there are important cultural differences within and between development organizations has received less consideration. This paper elaborates elements of a framework for studying organizational culture in multi-agency development projects. Where development projects involve multiple organizations (such as donors, government agencies, non-governmental organizations and grassroots groups) an analysis of cultures both within and between organizational actors can help explain important aspects of project performance.
more...less...
Abstract only
Influences of Organizational Culture on Learning in Public Agencies 1997. This article examines an underappreciated influence on organizational learning: the culture of the organization. Because organization culture informs the sense making and interpretation of the kinds of ambiguities seen in puzzling data, problematic situations, uncertain program technologies, and obscure links between problems and it may be useful to consider some particular ways that culture guides learning.
more...less...
Abstract only
Struggles in Transformation: A Study in TQM, Leadership, and Organizational Culture in a Government Agency 1996. This case study describes the efforts undertaken and lessons learned by the Texas Department of Mental Health and Mental Retardation as it began the transformation of its agency culture in keeping with a TQM model. Although there have been many successes over the past four years, these have been marked by a series of struggles that has roots in a mixture of uncertainty regarding the next step to take and in the need for the agency's senior managers to personally transform the way they go about their work. The author's experience has led to the realization that if the transformation of the agency culture is to occur, it must be preceded by this personal transformation. The struggle the author's agency encountered in making this personal transformation is the subject of this study.
more...less...
Abstract only
A Reflection on Cultural Change Processes for Public Sector Employees 2014. Since Internet invaded our everyday environment in the 1990s, public sector organizations have been pressed to adapt their management policies in order to develop a new conception of their relationships with other public and private institutions, with the citizens, and even with their own employees; as maintaining the traditional standards of bureaucratic behaviour is certainly anachronistic in today’s information society. In this respect, the implementation of a public culture that facilitates and promotes the acceptance of these new tools within the municipal organizations plays a crucial role in the subsequent quality of public services provided to the citizens. This new culture refers to the change in the organizational culture of the public sector toward a customer oriented approach, reinforcing values that provide effectiveness, orientation toward results and needs, receptivity and connectivity, openness and proactivity.
more...less...
Full-text
An Evaluation of Organizational Change and Lean Six Sigma in Federal Government 2014. Dissertation. In 2004, U.S. Army leadership executed a strategy to employ Lean Six Sigma (LSS) methodologies to respond to the need for more efficient and effective business processes and develop a cost-conscious culture. The research problem indicated the need for an objective evaluation of the effectiveness of LSS in changing the culture of a government organization. The purpose of this mixed method explanatory case study was to understand the effectiveness of the LSS training program in changing a government organizational culture and performance. The research questions were appropriate for evaluating program effectiveness using a 5-level return on investment (ROI) framework.
more...less...
Abstract only.
Research on the Use of Project Management in Organizational Culture Change in Public Administration Institutions 2012. Modern theoreticians emphasize that management is required in all modern organizations, economic or not, possibly being even more necessary in organizations that have no economic character, such the state institutions as they are not governed by the principle of profit and loss. Hence, research in the field of project management within the institutions of public administration is a potentially fruitful one, as it can emphasize strengths and weaknesses in the field, and, in the long run, contributes to raising the level of the countries or development regions involved.
more...less...
Open source. Link will lead to abstract page which allows pdf download.

Transportation Specific

The California Department of Transportation: SSTI Assessment and Recommendations 2014. This report provides an assessment of the performance of the California Department of Transportation (Caltrans) by the State Smart Transportation Initiative and recommendations for improvement. Interviews were conducted with more than 100 Caltrans staff and stakeholders and a wide range of materials from and about the department were reviewed. The report is critical of Caltrans’ management and operations but also notes that Caltrans has many strengths that give rational hope for its reform; Caltrans is in need of both modernization and organizational culture change. The report provides a brief history of Caltrans and of the demands placed on it, a set of findings about Caltrans’ current state, and recommendations for improvement.
more...less...
Full-text
Organizational development 2013. This article is one featured in a special edition of Digital Community Transportation (DigitalCT) with a focus on innovative transit leadership. This edition is inspired by the risk-taking and innovation inherent among the leaders profiled in this issue, and the key elements of leadership have been organized into six distinct content areas; this article focuses on the ways in which transit leaders demonstrate their ability to be master strategists and solid tacticians, in terms of thinking about their system's long-term direction, as well as overseeing the day-to-day functions of their organizations. They do this by instilling an organizational culture that involves some measure of risk in new thinking, while simultaneously making sure that the appropriate people and policies are in place to provide reliable and effective service. Some of the interviews are in video format, with the transcripts provided here.
more...less...
Full-text digital presentation.
A Revitalization of TxDOT 2011. In 2009, the Texas Transportation Commission (Commission) engaged the firm of Grant Thornton to conduct a detailed review of the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) in order to identify opportunities for improving the overall operating performance of the department. In July 2010, the Commission formed the TxDOT Restructure Council (Council). For consistency and simplicity, the Council has adopted the categories used in the Grant Thornton report and presented the recommendations in what it considers the order of importance: Leadership and Culture; Implementing Change; Organizational Structure; Financial Management; Informational Technology; Human Resources; Communications; Plan, Design, Build; and Procurement.
more...less...
Full-text

Construction Industry

Towards an organizational culture framework in construction 2011. Organizational culture gives identity to an organization. Notwithstanding the individuality of the staff members, their actions are collectively bound by the organizational culture. A review of the literature in this topic reveals that despite a number of organizational culture models have been developed, these are mainly for generic business settings and there has yet one developed for construction contracting organizations. This paper reports a study for this purpose conducted in Hong Kong.
more...less...
Abstract-only
Learning Organizations in Construction 2007. The transformation of organizations from production-oriented entities to proactive learning entities that continuously leverage the knowledge of the workforce is a primary objective of management researchers. This focus has significant relevance to the construction industry where production-related research has predominantly overshadowed organizational development research. Through a series of exploratory case studies, the writers developed a maturity model together with the Construction Industry Institute that provides construction organizations with a framework for developing a learning organization culture.
more...less...
Full-text available from ODOT Library.
Empowerment as a strategy for improving construction performance 2004. This study seeks to encourage improved construction project and organizational performance through the adoption of effective teamwork and empowerment strategies. This paper presents empowerment as a key to the performance enablers of organizational culture, training and knowledge management.
more...less...
Full-text available from the ODOT Library
Organizational Culture and Knowledge Management Success at Project and Organizational Levels in Contracting Firms This research focuses on contracting firms within the construction sector. It characterizes and evaluates the composition of organizational culture using four culture types (clan, adhocracy, market, and hierarchy), the strategic approach for knowledge flow, and the success of knowledge management (KM) systems at different hierarchical levels of contracting organizations (project and parent organization level).
more...less...
Available from the ODOT Library

Contact

Laura Wilt

Email Me

Contact:

555 13th St NE
Salem, OR 97301

971-701-0709

Organizational Culture: Public Sector, Transportation, and Construction

Public Sector, Transportation-Specific and Construction Industry

Public Sector

Transportation Specific

Construction Industry

Contact