Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digitization: Metadata Standards

Having solid metadata is essential to preserving information about the digital object, and displaying it correctly. The three types of metadata relevant to digitization projects are descriptive, administrative, and structural. Descriptive metadata contains information about the object's content, including title, author, notes, etc., used for discovery of the digital object. Administrative metadata contains information that will aid in management and preservation, including the file type, when it was created, etc. Structural metadata is the data describing how the object is displayed in a digital environment.

General best practices and guidelines

Sample institutional metadata standards

Dublin Core

Library of Congress

Other standards