Skip to Main Content
National Transportation Library
LibGuides
Digitization
General Resources
Search this Guide
Search
Digitization: General Resources
Home
Digitization Process
General Resources
Example Digitization Projects
Transportation Digitization Plans
Metadata Standards
Technology Options
Professional Development
Overview
Anatomy of a Digital Project
CARLI - Digital Collections' User Group - Webinar series, Spring 2012
Association for Library Collections & Technical Services Minimum Digitization Capture Recommendations
ALA minimum requirements for digitization, 2013
Best Practices for Digitization: General Guidelines and Information
Princeton University Library
CONTENTdm Tutorials
Resources available to help you build digital collections with OCLC's CONTENTdm.
Curtis Laws Wilson Library Digitization Best Practices
A general overview of a wide variety of topics including audio, text, images, and video.
Digital Capture and Retention Guidelines - Yale University Library
Guidelines from Yale University
Digital Library Federation
Digital Library Federation
Digital Projects 101: A Resource Guide
Digitization
Lyrasis Services
Digitization Best Practices
v. 1.0 - University of Colorado, August 2009
Digitization Guidelines
Center for Research Libraries
Digitization Standards and the Federal Agencies Digitization Guidelines Initiative (FADGI)
Videos from the Sustainable Heritage Network, 2015
Federal Agency Digitization Guidelines Initiatives
Guidelines for federal agencies, updated 2019
Federal Publications Digitization and Public Access Files Initiative
Federal Depository Library Program, updated December 2014
A Framework of Guidance for Building Good Digital Collections
NISO Recommended Practice
HathiTrust
Library of Congress Digital Preservation
Library of Congress Preservation Guidelines for Digitizing Library Materials
Moving Theory Into Practice: Digital Imaging Tutorial
This tutorial is no longer being maintained. It remains available for reference.
Northeast Document Conservation Center
Tools, including a handbook, on managing digital collections for libraries, museums, archives, and other collection-holding institutions.
Preservation Webinars from the ALA
Webinars on a variety of digitization topics from 2010-2019
Punch List of Best Practices for Electronic Resources
Engineering Libraries Division: American Society for Engineering Education
(Revised May 2005)
Audio
Sound Directions: Best Practices for Audio Preservation
Indiana University Digital Library Program, Last Updated 15 April 2008
Guidelines for the Creation of Digital Collections: Digitization Best Practices for Audio
CARLI - 2009
Copyright
Frequently Asked Questions About Copyright: Issues Affecting the US Government
FHWA, State DOT, and MPO Rights to Copyrighted and Patented Items Developed with FHWA Planning and Research Funds
File Format
CDL Digital File Format Recommendations: Master Production Files
University of California, August 2011
Images
Guidelines for the Creation of Digital Collections: Digitization Best Practices for Images
CARLI - 2012
Are Your Digital Documents Web Friendly?: Making Scanned Documents Web Accessible?
Information Technology and Libraries, Vol 29, No 3 (2010)
Scanning
The Art of Scanning
(University of Nebraska-Lincoln, 2011)
Guidelines for the Creation of Digital Collections: Digitization Best Practices for Video
CARLI - 2010
<<
Previous:
Digitization Process
Next:
Example Digitization Projects >>
