Speeches by Secretaries of Transportation (1960s-2000s) are currently being processed and will soon be available online.
Digitized copies of United States “Civil Aeronautics Regulations” reports, dating from 1930 to 1968. Regulation reports are searchable by part number and date of publication.
Bookmark this collection https://rosap.ntl.bts.gov/collection_car
This collection contains about 500 documents gathered and digitized in celebration of the 50th anniversary of the Urban Mass Transportation Act, signed by President Lyndon Johnson in 1964 to achieve, in his words, "better systems for getting our people to work and home again—and getting them there with speed and safety and economy and comfort." Reports in this collection range from approximately 1947-2001. Bookmark this collection: https://rosap.ntl.bts.gov/collection_fta_50
A brief history of mass transit in the U.S. is available at https://www.transit.dot.gov/about/brief-history-mass-transit.
Digitized copies of United States "Civil Aeronautics Board Aircraft Accident Reports," dating from 1934 to 1965. Incident reports are searchable by airline name (at time of incident), site of incident, and date of incident.
Bookmark this collection: https://rosap.ntl.bts.gov/collection_iaa
Digitized copies of the United States Interstate Commerce Commission railroad accident reports, dating from 1911 to 1993. Incident reports are searchable by site of incident and date of incident.
Bookmark this collection https://rosap.ntl.bts.gov/collection_irr
Digitized copies of papers by Herbert S. Fairbank, Frank Turner and Thomas Harris MacDonald. Papers include manuscripts, presentations, speeches and articles.
Bookmark this collection https://rosap.ntl.bts.gov/collection_ftm_papers
Public Roads is the quarterly magazine of the Federal Highway Administration. Now published in digital format, this collection represents print volumes published from 1918 until 1994. New issues are available here: https://highways.dot.gov/public-roads/home.
Bookmark this collection https://rosap.ntl.bts.gov/collection_pr_mag