For resource whisperers Bobbi and Cara, it’s our lucky day. We’re joined by a guest blogger named Fay.
Featured Guide: Research Tools - https://transportation.libguides.com/researchtools
This LibGuide comes to you from Mary Moulton of the National Transportation Library.
The platform for this guide is provided through the National Transportation Library.
It is a curated guide to transportation research with an emphasis on government information. Most materials are in the public domain. We’ve put this blog post in verse, so let’s explain.
Guide Encounter:
Tab 1 features libraries from the U.S. DOT. These tools are as keen as an ocelot.
Meander over to NTL’s ROSA-P. Then explore some of its collections like FHWA and Volpe. We
guarantee you’ll be busy as a bee.
Tab 2 lists catalogs and databases. These would put a grizzly bear through its paces.
You’ll want to visit TRB’s RIP and TRID, which even has resources referencing squid.
Don’t forget to visit GPO and GOVINFO. The wise old owl will be in the know.
But don’t try to pet the WorldCAT. Just search this database of library records and that’s that. (This blog post could be endorsed by The Cat in the Hat)
Tab 3 contains digital collections. Do you think we’re running out of rhymes and puns?
Check out all the collections of ROSA-P’s. The Library of Congress contains books, maps, images, newspapers, and oral histories.
Go back in time with the Internet Archive. Now the LibGuide Petting Zoo is really coming alive.
Tab 4 has search engines to explore. So, start your search – don’t be a boar.
You know Google, but do you know Google Scholar? It contains ROSA-P resources, so give it a holler.
The last resources listed are Science.gov and USA.gov. We’re ready to search and fly like a dove.
Thanks for reading our LibGuide Petting Zoo blog today. Once you visit Research Tools, you won’t want to stray.
About the Authors:
Bobbi deMontigny is the librarian at the Montana Department of Transportation
Cara Marcus is the resource center manager of National RTAP
Guest Blogger Fay Min is a graduate student in Library and Information Science at San Jose State University
0 Comments.