Minnesota has a rich transportatiton history and its bridges have played an important role in the development of the transportation system. This guide provides sources from our library collection and on the web, from books to databases and digital historic materials. General bridge history and resources are found on this page. Resources on the history of specific bridges are found by navigating the tabs at the top.
The MnDOT Library provides access to many transportation research databases. Some are available only from PCs logged into MnDOT's internal network (*). Minnesota residents can access some of these resources using their public library card. If you need assistance with any of these resources please contact us at 651-366-3791 or email library.dot@state.mn.us.
Academic Search™ Premier*
Academic Search™ Premier contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
AASHTO Product Evaluation List
This site provides a repository consisting of findings from the evaluation and testing of new and/or proprietary, engineered transportation products.
ITS Decision
ITS Decision is explicitly organized to highlight the interdependence of different ITS technologies and topics by extensive interlinking throughout the site allowing the reader to quickly assess the relationship between different ITS technologies and topics.
MnDOT Research Services
Research reports resulting from research administered by the MnDOT Research Services Section.
National Transportation Library
The National Transportation Library is a repository of materials from public and private organizations around the country. The Library is intended to facilitate the exchange of information related to transportation.
NUtranlit - Northwestern University Tranportation Literature
The Transportation Library's staff produce NUTranLit, a web based periodical index of transportation and law enforcement articles and conference proceedings.
PATH (Partners for Advanced Transit and Highways)
PATH is a multi-disciplinary program with staff, faculty and students from universities statewide, and cooperative projects with private industry, state and local agencies, and non-profit institutions.
Research In Progress (RiP) - TRB
The TRB RiP database contains about 2,000 records of research projects sponsored by the departments of transportation in the fifty states.
Research Needs Statements (TRB)
TRB Technical Activities standing committees identify, develop, and disseminate research need statements (RNS) for use by practitioners, researchers, and others. The RNS on this website have been developed by the technical committees.
State DOT Search Engine
Uses Google Custom Search to search State DOT Websites.
TRB Publications Index
The TRB Publications Index contains over 41,000 papers, articles, and reports published by the Transportation Research Board, Highway Research Board, Strategic Highway Research Program, or the Marine Board from 1923 to date.
TRID - The TRIS and IRTD Database
TRID is integrated database that combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and t International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide.
TranStats - The Intermodal Transportation Database
TranStats provides updated data, graphs and charts on nationwide transportation statistics.
U.S. Department of Transportation Online Publications
The Database allows customers to access DOT publications that are available online.
USDOT Research Hub
A searchable database of the latest USDOT-sponsored research, development and technology projects.
Wood, Concrete, Stone, and Steel by
Topics: Historic bridges Minnesota
Bridges Minnesota Design and construction History
Bridges and Structures (MnDOT)
Bridges in Minnesota (Ranker - crowdsource page)
Bridges & Structures (John Weeks)
|
Mission: MnDOT Library advances your knowledge with timely, direct, and cost-effective connections to the
|
The library is currently closed to the public due to COVID-19 Library Location |