Transportation Primer

Also available in print, the Pocket Guide shows high-level annual/national transportation statistics.

BTS's in-depth annual publication on statistics across the various modes and topics, like volume of vehicles and drivers, economics and safety, as well as mode-specific profiles.

An overview of the U.S. transportation system and key indicators, including data and statistics on passenger travel, freight movement, transportation and the economy, system reliability, safety, energy use, and the environmental impacts of transportation

The latest monthly and quarterly data in a single page from across government and the transportation industry.

Presents data on each state's infrastructure, safety, freight movement, passenger travel, vehicles, economy and finance, and energy and the environment.

A collection of charts and statistical tables about freight transportation in the United States

A compilation of some of BTS' most popular air carrier statistics.

Highlights transportation's role in the economy and explores changes (trends) over time through a series of interactive charts. TET also explains related concepts and data sources for a general audience.

NTL guide to key transportation statistics across DOT, other government agencies and industry.

A set of nationwide geographic databases of transportation facilities, transportation networks, and associated infrastructure. These datasets include spatial information for transportation modal networks and intermodal terminals, as well as the related attribute information for these features.

BTS GIS data, maps, and mapping applications, and an overview of the BTS GIS program.

ROSA P is the National Transportation Library's Repository and Open Science Access Portal.
Founded as an all-digital library program, NTL’s collections in ROSA P are full-text digital publications, datasets, and other resources. Legacy print materials that have been digitized are collected if they have historic, technical, or national significance. The repository is also designated as the full-text repository for USDOT-funded research under the USDOT Public Access Plan. Collections in ROSA P are available without restriction to transportation researchers, statistical organizations, the media, and the general public.

Information about the archives of the USDOT and its administrations, including collection guides and USDOT history resources.

Access historical collections related to the history of the U.S. Department of Transportation

A knowledgebase of information for USDOT staff and the public about BTS statistical products and other transportation issues the NTL Ask-A-Librarian service has received questions about.

Subscription databases from the NTL, like EBSCO, Hein Online, CQ and ScienceDirect, some of which require the user to be on the DOT network or VPN.

NTL's "LibGuide" collection contains research guides created by transportation information professionals at NTL and in our National Transportation Knowledge Network across the US.

An integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides bibliographic access to 1.4 million records of transportation research worldwide.