Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Traffic Safety Culture Publications
A Strategic Approach to Transforming Traffic Safety Culture to Reduce Deaths and Injuries
TRB's National Cooperative Highway Research Program (NCHRP) Web-Only Document 252: A Strategic Approach to Transforming Traffic Safety Culture to Reduce Deaths and Injuries provides guidance on developing a strategic approach to transform the traffic safety culture of road users and stakeholders. The goal is to use this approach to sustain improvements in traffic safety for all road users, including non-motorized users. For the purpose of this project, traffic safety culture is defined as the values and beliefs shared among groups of road users and stakeholders that influence their decisions to behave or act in ways that affect traffic safety.
Distracted Driving is Hazardous Driving
From laws to training and technology: how to improve traffic safety
Drug-Impaired Driving: Marijuana and Opioids Raise Critical Issues for States
GHSA's Drug-Impaired Driving: Marijuana and Opioids Raise Critical Issues for States presents new research to examine the impact of marijuana and opioids on driving ability and provides recommendations on how best to address these emerging challenges.
Encouraging Seatbelt Use
High-visibility enforcement (HVE) is a traffic safety approach designed to deter unlawful behaviors and promote voluntary behavior change in accordance with traffic laws. HVE deters risky behavior by reminding motorists through communications and additional enforcement that they may be pulled over for illegal behaviors. Over the past two decades, traffic safety programs have used and evaluated HVE efforts to change many risky behaviors. This Traffic Tech summarizes evaluations of HVE effectiveness for seat belt use.
If you feel Different you Drive Different
One year ago, NHTSA challenged our Nation to save lives by addressing the growing risks of drug-impaired driving. With this in mind, Drive High - Get a DUI was born. Today, NHTSA proactively continues to raise awareness that driving under the influence of drugs can make you unsafe to drive on our roads.
LED Roadway Lighting: Impact on Driver Sleep Health and Alertness
Light emitting diode (LED) technology has revolutionized the lighting industry. The dimming and instant-on capabilities of these light sources along with their high efficiency have allowed lighting designers to overcome some of the limitations of previous technologies, particularly in roadway lighting environments.
Modeling the System of Beliefs That Influence Willingness and Intention to Drive Under the Influence of Cannabis (DUIC) in Washington State
in the Accident Analysis and Prevention journal. The article explores the belief system associated with driving under the influence of cannabis.
Safety Specific Websites
Center for Health and Safety Culture
The Center for Health and Safety Culture (formerly MOST of Us®) is an interdisciplinary center serving communities and organizations through research, training, and support services to cultivate healthy and safe cultures. The Center is dedicated to applying research to develop sustainable solutions to complex social problems. Our Positive Culture Framework (PCF) provides a process to guide researchers, practitioners, and community leaders to improve health and safety.
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
As the lead federal government agency responsible for regulating and providing safety oversight of commercial motor vehicles (CMVs), FMCSA's mission is to reduce crashes, injuries, and fatalities involving large trucks and buses.
Highway Safety Improvement Program (HSIP) –Training and Technical Assistance
The training and technical assistance described on this page is specific to the major components of the Highway Safety Improvement Program (HSIP)
The Highway Safety and EMS Connection
The SHSP is a statewide-coordinated safety plan that provides a comprehensive framework for reducing highway fatalities and serious injuries on all public roads.
The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) reports the official mortality estimates for the United States and is used as a comparison to judge the accuracy of National Safety Council (NSC) preliminary estimates.
Local Road Safety Plans
A local road safety plan (LRSP) provides a framework for identifying, analyzing, and prioritizing roadway safety improvements on local roads. The LRSP development process and content are tailored to local issues and needs. The process results in a prioritized list of issues, risks, actions, and improvements that can be used to reduce fatalities and serious injuries on the local road network.
A Map to Safer Roadways
Welcome to the local road safety plan do-it-yourself website! We are so happy you are here. On this site, you’ll find everything you need to make a plan that fits your community and gets people home safely.
National HighwayTraffic Safety Administration
Our mission is to save lives, prevent injuries, and reduce economic costs due to road traffic crashes, through education, research, safety standards, and enforcement.
National Work Zone Safety Information Clearinghouse
Library of Resources to Improve Roadway Work Zone Safety for All Roadway Users
NHTSA Behavioral Research
NHTSA studies behaviors and attitudes in highway safety, focusing on drivers, passengers, pedestrians, and motorcyclists. We identify and measure behaviors involved in crashes or associated with injuries, and develop and refine countermeasures to deter unsafe behaviors and promote safe alternatives.
Noteworthy Speed Management Practices
Speeding contributes to over a quarter of all road trauma and is a persistent driving behavior that brings harm both to the vehicle occupants as well as other more vulnerable road users. In 2018, speeding related crashes resulted in 9,378 deaths which is a staggering 26 percent of all crash fatalities.
Agencies who want to address speeding are often faced with a lack of resources in setting appropriate speeds for conditions, pushback on changing speed limits, a lack of resources for countermeasures or enforcement, and restrictions or opposition to alternate long-lasting enforcement options such as safety cameras.
This report provides another avenue of information for practitioners in that it summarizes eight case studies which highlight noteworthy practices over a range of speed management issues.
Practical Safety Solutions for Local and Tribal Roads: A Human Factors Approach
provides the practitioner with information on the effects of road
users actions on roadway safety and how, when, and where to
use this information to improve safety on their roadways. The
information provided is not a substitute but a complement to
technical information found in other documents. Throughout the
report references are provided.
PEDESTRIAN AND BICYCLIST ROAD SAFETY AUDIT (RSA) GUIDE AND PROMPT LIST
This guide is intended to support agencies that are interested in conducting pedestrian- and bicycle-focused RSAs and
includes information on safety risks for both modes, the RSA process, necessary data, and the roles and responsibilities of
the RSA Team. Also included are updated prompt lists for pedestrians and bicyclists to use in the field. This guide will aid
practitioners understand pedestrian and bicyclist issues in their jurisdiction and potentially achieve other goals in addition
to safety, like enhancing quality of life, improving community health, or increasing pedestrian and bicycle mode share.
Peer Exchange Reports - Safety
Technical assistance delivered through workshops and peer exchanges generally results in an event report. Reports provide roadway safety practitioners with easy-to-access technical assistance on safety challenges encountered by many of their fellow agencies.
Rural Intelligent Transportation System (ITS) Toolkit
The 2018 Rural Intelligent Transportation System Toolkit is an update and expansion of the previous effort in order to update its relevance and usefulness for transportation practitioners. It is a series of 42 rural transportation critical need fact sheets (pdf files) that can be found below, categorized by topic.
Speed Management Safety
Speeding is a complex issue involving engineering, driving behavior, education, and enforcement. That's why the U.S. DOT has set up a multimodal, multidisciplinary Speed Management Team to attack the problem. The DOT Team has a formal charter and a work plan. FHWA is the lead agency accountable for the engineering actions.
Strategic Highway Safety Plan
FHWA has developed a wide variety of resources to help states develop, implement, evaluate, and promote their SHSPs, as well as additional guidance on related topics, FAQs, and other information that can help states improve their SHSP processes
Strategic Highway Safety Plan (SHSP) Database Search
The Strategic Highway Safety Plan (SHSP) Database contains key data from 52 SHSPs about the data-driven approaches states are using to reduce roadway fatalities and serious injuries.
Strategic Highway Safety Plan Community of Practice
If you participate in your State’s SHSP development and implementation, or would like to, this forum is for you. Here you will have the opportunity to interact with peers on SHSP related issues and learn about the latest SHSP resources, noteworthy practices, and events.
Toward Zero Deaths
Led by the TZD Steering Committee, the National Strategy on Highway Safety provides a platform of consistency for state agencies, private industry, national organizations and others to develop safety plans that prioritize traffic safety culture and promote the national TZD vision.
USDOT Summit on Pedestrian Safety Virtual Series
While the vehicle occupant rate decreased, pedestrian fatalities increased from 4,109 in 2009 to 6,283 in 2018, a
53 percent increase and the highest number of pedestrian fatalities since 1990 There are some signs the trend
may be reversing In 2019, pedestrian fatalities decreased by 2 percent More needs to be done to keep the trend
moving in the right direction That is why the U S Department of Transportation (USDOT), led by the Federal
Highway Administration (FHWA) and the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), conducted a
national dialogue on pedestrian safety through three webinars that focused on the safe system approach; the
when, where, who, and how of pedestrian risk; and next steps
Vision Towards Zero Deaths
The mission of the TRB Subcommittee on Vision Toward Zero Deaths for U.S. roadways is to promote and support collaborative and comprehensive research to advance road safety and accelerate implementation of high priority safety improvement strategies.
Western Transportation Institute
Eight transportation research programs, one integrated team addressing rural matters
Several states have asked to use the Zero Fatalities television ads, print creative, and other elements of the program. We welcome that, as we have seen positive success with the Zero Fatalities message in Utah.
General Research Databases